Planning Commission

The Planning Commission is appointed by the City Council to help plan for growth and development within the city. Members of the Planning Commission provide an invaluable service to our community. They advise the City Council and city staff on a variety of subjects by making recommendations on important policy matters affecting the livability of Philomath. The Philomath Planning Commission is made up of seven citizen volunteers. Planning Commissioners generally serve four-year terms.

The Planning Commission meets at 6:00 p.m. on the third Monday of each month, as needed, in the City Hall Council Chambers, 980 Applegate St., Philomath, OR 97370.


 Committee for Citizen Involvement (CCI)

Citizen involvement has been an important part of the planning process in Philomath since comprehensive planning for the City began in 1974. Since that time, numerous public meetings, workshops and hearings have been held during the development of the comprehensive plan and implementing ordinances. In addition, notices of hearings regarding quasi-judicial planning actions are sent to nearby property owners in order to allow them to be involved in hearings which may affect their property.

Philomath’s Citizen Involvement Program was updated in 2022 to expand policies directed at citizen outreach. The Citizen Involvement Program can be found in the Philomath Comprehensive Plan at:

Philomath Comprehensive Plan (updated through Ordinance #868)

 Commission Members

Planning Commissioner Term Expires
Darlene Rose 12/31/2025
Van Hunsaker 12/31/2027
John Barlow 12/31/2026
Timothy Melott 12/31/2026
Josiah Jessen 12/31/2027
Gary Conner 12/31/2024
Hayley Green 12/31/2024